Honda CBR XX Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi Guys
because im a persnickety engineer rider i change parts at the mere whiff of a future failure, especially when its safety critical

one of the front bearings was a bit tight and dry and so i wanted to change it
due to Honda fitting a spacer tube between the bearings there is no way to use a inner race extractor as there is no open lip to grip onto
so
you can do either
1 with a drift try to know the spacer tube off to one side and then expose part of the inner race to hammer on

or
buy a steel giant rawl plug ( expansion bolt ) and wind it into place on the inner race and tighten it up
then you have something to hammer onto to drive out the old bearing
the hub needs to be cleaned out and lubed with a bit of copper grease and then you can start to knock in the new bearing using a socket that matches the OD of the bearing
beware of jetwashes
i never use one as the water gets past the outer seal and accumulates in the hub and rots out the innards bearings and spacer…
i had 2 bearings fail because of that

·
Registered
257 Posts
I did mine with the drift method, I hadn't thought about a rawl bolt. I removed the dust seals, clean and inspect the bearings. Re-grease the bearings and refit the seals.
I've only ever had a bearing fail once, on a s/h CBR1000F imported from Spain. At service, almost every bearing was dry or worn.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i have ( still) a cbr 1000FL (91 ) version
i have had to change the bearings 3 times so far as the hubs seem to collect water and then the bearings rot out
even with decent seals and no sprayed washing water on the seals
the fact that the bike is really heavy on the front end doesnt help...
im going to try to sell it off in this summer if anyone still would want a 30 year old bike...

·
BirdDog
519 Posts
Quick suggestion...