Honda CBR XX Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I'm a newbie so apologies for this being in the wrong area. A couple of years ago I bought a 97 Bbird with the intention of it being a winter hack.It livedin the garage under a sheet. The battery was dead and I trailered it home when I bought. I recently fitted a battery with the intention of getting it started and fitted it. I've come to start the thing with new fuel etc; the dash lights up the lifhts all work, the starter is going but wont run or sound like its firing (no fuel apparently ?)...I'm now getting grief from she who enlightens my life. I'm now wondering if the alarm that ive noticed it fitted (data tool series 2) could be the issue of it not firing.Done some digging on the web and lots of people say they're garbage, I don't disagree. I didn't get any fobs when I bought the bike and have just phoned data tool for their help and all they said was there s no support for them. Really helpful. TBH I'm throwing myself at the mercy of this forum as how to check :A) if this alarm had been deactivated by the previous owner, there's a metal key slot on one end which is turned to the 12 o'clock pos'nB) how to get rid of the proxy thing C) how to elimate this from the not starting issues Any assistance any could offer will be gratefully received..( Approaching wits end )

·
Premium Member
6,010 Posts

·
Registered
723 Posts
hi horseman, if the alarm was installed correctly and alarm engaged starter would not spin, an alarm that age i would ditch, datatool wont help you for security reasons, i.e. bike could be stolen etc. get a local auto electrician to remove it or you could try it yourself, pm me if you need help.

·
NEED WORK!
7,451 Posts
I'm with dehn. if you are getting spark, then the problem lies somewhere else.
If you aint getting spark, I'd remove the alarm alltogether.

Since you are in the UK, I'd give John at Jaws a call.You can contact him here: