Honda CBR XX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I just joined & I'm totally new to the scene. My brother has an old '02 CBR 1100xx that he's left sitting for years so I've decided to tackle it as a project and get it running. Full disclosure, I've never worked on or even ridden a motorcycle before. I'm not looking to start with the biggest bike out there, but it's available & if I can do some much needed basics (empty the fuel tank, change the oil/coolant/brake fluid, check & likely replace spark plugs, new air filter & battery, etc) I'd like to at least get it running and then go from there.

I do a good deal of work on my cars so I'm hoping to absorb some info on motorcycles along the way. Hopefully I don't need to ask stupid questions but I appreciate the info I've already been looking at quite a bit.

·
Registered
548 Posts
Do yourself a big favor, get the shop manual. Study it, make sure you understand the procedure and if you don't, ask here. If you can't explain the issue, take a few pics and we'll figure it out for you.

Welcome aboard. Oh, and for a first bike, such as this, hang on to your fuckin socks when you open her up on the roads. She's a death-trap to the inexperienced and unforgiving at times.

·
Play, it makes life fun
2,106 Posts
Sure, we'll help you along the way. Find a smaller bike and learn on it while you're fixing up the 1100XX. Get some experience and when this is running you can sell the smaller bike. Or... make sure you keep it under 6,000 rpm. Sport bikes turn harder in the corners until you figure them out. Not like a standard bike or cruiser. Proceed with caution and you'll be ok...

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
Well, it can't have been sitting more than 19 years, so there's still hope, eh?

"I've never worked on or even ridden a motorcycle before."

Everyone loves a challenge. Yeah....