Honda CBR XX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Apologies if this has been discussed many times before. I am a newbie to the forum, I have owned a 97 bird for 5 years and it has never had a single problem until now.
My bike has not been charging for quite a while, I got round to looking at it and all the wires in the rectifier connector block had fried, burnt out.
I re-wired the block and now the bike won’t start, just a lot of backfiring.
is that most likely the rectifier or something else ?

·
BirdDog
556 Posts
Reg’s and CCT’s are just about the only gremlins on the carby’s.

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
If it ran before you rewired the block, it could be causing a voltage problem through the rectifier. Disconnect it, check voltage, if the battery is flat, recharge. Try again without reconnecting the RR. If it runs, you then need to check the charging circuit and sort any problems.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Mine's an 05 FI and was ultra reliable until the stator went at around 66K miles. Went through a few stators, R/Rs and batteries until I fitted RMSTATOR stator and R/R which connects directly to the battery. 1700 miles done since then and fingers crossed she's OK now. It would appear to be a problem with the loom. I'm starting to get confidence back in her for distance riding. (Before the new parts I wouldn't go further than it took for the battery to run down.)

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Wiring looks good but that was my concern, if I replace the r/r and the stator is the problem could it blow the new r/r ?
I assume if I totally disconnect the r/r and try and start it, and it runs ok, it could still be the stator.
But I guess I could then get some readings of the stator output once the bike is running. Is that the right way to go ?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·