Honda CBR XX Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, per Streck's suggestion in the "Chicagoland BB sightings" thread, I am starting an introduction thread.

A little about me and the bird:

Just got my blackbird about 2 or 3 weeks ago, with only 6700 miles on it. Its a 2000, fuel injected, analog gauges. The previous owner seems to have REALLY taken care of it. I was told by the dealer (which always has a 90% chance of being a lie) it was brought in on a trade in by a guy who had bought a cruiser because his wife refused to ride on the back of the blackbird. His loss, my gain :)

I was looking for a new bike because I was in the process of rebuilding an old 1984 Nighthawk S I had (CB700SC) that I had been riding for 2-3 years, had gotten it almost free (1 bike + 1 almost identical parts bike), fixed it up, cleaned the carburetors, new tires and battery and I had an uber-cheap and fairly quick little bike.

I ended up not being able to finish the rebuild due to a few parts being unavailable, and in my search for a new bike, it became apparent to me that any sport and/or sport touring bike over 600cc's are few and far between in the used bike market.

So I found and ended up grabbin' this beauty and I absolutely love it already. I've gotten great help here at the forums and have already installed a set of speakers as well as a set of oxford heated grips. I'm currently awaiting delivery of an MRA touring windshield with the "vario" attachment, as well as some GIVI hard luggage (2 E41's as side bags, + wingrack w/ turn signals and top rack for possible future top trunk).

Also, thanks to your guys' thread regarding the wiring block problem causing the FI light problem, I was able to twist their arm at the dealership into giving me a free wiring harness! $300 I don't have to spend.