Honda CBR XX Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm riding Honda's a LONG time, starting with a 550F, a Nighthawk, Magna VF750, a Shadow VT1100 (not my cup-o-tea) a Yamaha V-max (too unstable at speed) and now the bird since 2009. I can say I've had some conversations and experiences with VT riders that stuck though I rarely spoke of them. Here's the best... brand withheld because everyone knows what it was...

I had a neighbor who always yelled "Rice Burner" when I rode past his house going out the development rear entrance to work, one day he was with a bud working on their two oily mess machines (with tarps under them) and before he could yell "rice burner" I stopped. I put the kickstand down and told him that every day I went to work and almost as many days he was working on his bike. I asked him when he passed my house (he always took his truck and went out the front entrance past my house) if he ever saw me working on my bike, he said no... I then told him I'd rather burn rice than oil and be working on my bike all the time and rode off...

He never yelled rice burner again.

One time friends were in from out of town and we met at a restaurant for dinner and when we left there were six V twins parked a few spaced away, facing me. One rider started his bike and revved it Vroom... blub, blub, blub... Vroom... blub, blub, blub... Vroom... blub, blub, blub... looking at me smiling. Soon he let it idle, I started up the bird, ran her to 9k+ SCREAMING loudly and throttled it down, and shut it off and said to him pointing at his engine... "That's not an engine" then pointed to mine... "THAT'S an engine" My friend whispered in my ear... "You're dead" but the VT'ers laughed and all six rode away... blub, blub, blub...