Honda CBR XX Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
'98SBB,'07GS500,1969HARLEY SPRINT350SS,'07 CBR600RR
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay this may sound a little ridiculous but Serious inquiry here... be gentle. I have a 98 Blackbird everything's original except for the rear fender I just need to know is it possible to swap a 07 CBR 600RR front end with the black bird that I have? I'm really mostly concerned with the main shaft like are they the same width could I just take the one off to the CBR 600 and put it right on the Blackbird without having to disassemble the Blackbird first to see if they're the same? And since this is my first post let me just say I really appreciate this forum and all the info and invaluable knowledge you guys give me thank you so much

·
Super Moderator
12,854 Posts
As an engineer my answer is that 'yes the swap is possible' but again as an engineer the question I would ask myself is 'is this swap sensible' and my answer would be 'no'.

To get the RR forks to work well they would need considerable inside work, the RR is a far lighter bike so springs and valving would need to be changed before you dealt with the stroke length.
Then the forks themselves, I don't know their exact length but I do know they are a fair bit shorter than the Birds. If they are fitted at that length you will destroy the handling / ground clearance. Yes there are ways around this but generally they are messy.

So my summary is that the conversion is possible but personally I wouldn't go that way. If you really want to do a front end conversion the Busa front end conversion is a better option, yes there are still some issues to be overcome but far less than you will see with the RR forks.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·