Honda CBR XX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Sport Tourer
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding my XX for a few months now and after changing the CCT Lifter with a new double green dot unit, I'm still not sure if my XX sounds exactly right. It runs extremely well, has TONS of smooth power, and has not hiccuped since I picked it up.

It has 24K miles on it and according to the previous owner he had the valve clearances checked at the dealer at around 20K miles. The motor just seems a little "tickier" than I would have expected, and I've never heard another one in person. My previous bikes were a Nighthawk 750 and a VFR800FI, neither of which ticked at all.

I'm in Westmont IL and it would be great if I could meet up with another XX owner so that we could compare the sound of our bikes. It would put my mind at ease if I knew my motor sounded normal. If it doesn't, well then it's time to start tracking down the culprit and fix it...

·
Registered
35 Posts
I am in Bartlett and would be happy to meet up with you sometime. A friend of mine just had their CCT lifter changed yesterday on their 98 'Bird with a double green dot and all the unfriendly noise went away.

·
Sport Tourer
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys. I have some house construction going on along with some family obligations but I'll be in touch when it looks like I'll have a free weekend to take a ride. Hopefully I'll have some time within the next couple of weekends.

It would be great to get a listen to another XX, and have someone take a listen to mine just to put my mind at ease about how it sounds.

·
Registered
33 Posts
I'm looking for XX riders that are local get at me lets ride........I am not in now nor am I looking to join any clubs I just wanna RIDE.......

·
Flyin' Lo and Free
686 Posts