Honda CBR XX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys
looking for some thoughts on my blackbird. In September 2016 replaced stator, rectifier & battery on my 2000 blackbird I have been using it to comute from Crawley to London for the past 4 months & all seemed ok. The other day was riding back & lights for indicators seem very dim. Anyway to cut long story short bike packed up on me, bump started it a got it home but battery flat as pancake. Have checked charging & getting just over 12.75v when at 3000 rpm. Thought either stator again or rectifier. Tested stator getting anything from 36v to 45v across phases. Seems ok. My question is that I put cables from rectifier on an old battery not connected to the bike & am getting 14.68v at tickover but doesn't rise when revved, as soon as I reconnect same battery to main wiring to bike so it will start run light etc all I get is about 12.7v at 3000 revs & above. Does this mean there is a problem in the wiring, maybe a short or similar. Any help, comment or thoughts would be apriciated. Thought I got this problem sorted with all the new bits.

·
Registered
420 Posts
You might try checking any and all ground connections to the bike. Sounds like you've got all the electrical components taken care of so I would be looking for a questionable ground that maybe is contaminated with some corrosion or is loose. In general just start looking at all the connections throughout the bike and disconnect and cleanup even if they look ok.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You might try checking any and all ground connections to the bike. Sounds like you've got all the electrical components taken care of so I would be looking for a questionable ground that maybe is contaminated with some corrosion or is loose. In general just start looking at all the connections throughout the bike and disconnect and cleanup even if they look ok.