A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later
Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the CBRXX.com.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By deadman
  • 1 Post By pbz1900
  • 4 Post By Ausblackbird
  • 1 Post By Bigmc

Thread: A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

  1. #1
    Play, it makes life fun
    Member #
    15777
    Bike(s)
    84 STD wing, 01 XX, 07 ST1300A, 12 NC700, 85 Rebel
    Join Date
    Mar 24 2013
    Location
    Byron, Illinois
    Posts
    1,603
    Liked
    500 times

    A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

    My FI tank is 6.3 gallons and I have never had a problem with my 2001 PGM FI. Nor with my linked brakes... especially after flushing them and finding out that my rear pedal had some air in there. Now I can push it and the bike noticeably slows down! Still interesting perspective. Although I wouldn't call the CCT a problem as at 25,000 miles mine is fine and it's an easy fix to put in a new one.
    https://www.bennetts.co.uk/bikesocia...ught_blackbird

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    Helibars, Corbin Seat, MRA Vario Screen, Cortech Tank Bag, Adaptiv mount & Escort Max detector, Amsoil Oil&Filter, Fender Ext, DanMoto Slip Ons, GIVI E41 panniers & Maxia V56 Trunk, Daugherty Adjustable Forks and Shock, Silent Sprockets-Ognibene/Gold DID Chain, Cameleon Plus Chain Oiler, Beestoy CC, Voltmeter.

  2. # ADS
    Sponsor
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

    CBRXX.com is the original Honda CBR1100XX Super Blackbird community! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!


  3. #2

    Member #
    27041
    Bike(s)
    2000 Blackbird
    Join Date
    Apr 07 2017
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    38
    Liked
    19 times

    Re: A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

    This is just someone saying what they think of the BB, mentioning a few facts and saying what you should look for when buying a 20 year old bike. Useful of you're looking to buy one but not really a review.
    "When Honda fuel-injected the CBR in 1999 their PGM system was ok, but not quite as smooth as it would become in a few years time"
    That might be, mine is a 2000 and I haven't tried a newer one, but it's still just as good as the few other bikes I've driven from the same time.
    Last edited by twowheels; 06-07-2019 at 1:21 PM.

  4. #3

    Member #
    4351
    Bike(s)
    2005 Blue Blackbird, Silver 06,Now The Dead Moped,
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2008
    Location
    Lilydale Melb Australia
    Posts
    6,924
    Liked
    1355 times

    Re: A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

    06, All stock, 78,000 kays, Chucked it down the road at 75,000 kays, Nothing wrong with the bike, Insurance writeoff, Repairs were worth more than the bike was,
    13 year old bike, Cost me one battery, Honda dont make batterys,
    Demo model, Bought with 354 Kays on the clock,

    05, 105,000 kays, 14 year old bike, All stock, Cost me a front fork seal at around 90,000 kays, Did the slides while I was in there, one wheel bearing,
    3 sets of Chinese Fairings, One Broken shoulder, Shit tyres, one broken collar bone, Extreme fun and sand across a hair pin, Hahahaha
    Honda dont make seals, slides or Tyres,
    Bought with 40,000 kays on the clock,

    The linked brakes are grouse, I love them,
    PITA till I figured out how to bleed them properly, Bit of a struggle doing them on my own,
    Rear pedal is solid and works instantly, Not that I use it very often,
    Front lever is solid and works instantly also,

    Loom fix, CCT, R&R, Still original on both bikes, I use Dino Oil and 91 Octane on both,
    Ausblackbird likes this.
    If ya not Boppin, Ya in ya coffin. Rock and Roll will soothe your soul.
    Mods, 12 Inch self made Risers, Double Bubble Windscreen, Ventura packrack, Expandable to 82 litre, Rjays rack bag, Suspension is still stock, Megacycle Cans, Hids, Lambswool seat cover, It Might be Blue, It Might be Slow, But it is, Awesome.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    CBRXX.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Older wiser and sorer
    Member #
    15988
    Bike(s)
    2000BB
    Join Date
    Apr 27 2013
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    1,359
    Liked
    645 times
    Interesting deadman. 91 octane. I have used 95 always. Maybe i should save and go to 91.
    Peter
    deadman likes this.
    STAY ALIVE BE DROPBEAR AWARE.

  7. #5

    Member #
    37265
    Bike(s)
    017 1290SDGT & 05 CBR1100XX
    Join Date
    Mar 21 2019
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    53
    Liked
    11 times

    Re: A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

    Nah mate.... stick with 95...... 91 carbons the cylinder head more than 95/98 - the BB will run ok on 91 (non ethanol) but it runs better on 95.

    98 is not worth the extra cost.

    I've heard some say if you mix 91 & 95 (alternate 1/2 tank top ups etc) you get better fuel mileage...... but I don't know if this is true or just a coincidence.

    long term, your motor will love you if you mostly run good non ethanol 95 octane (I've found Caltex has been the best here in Queensbloodyland with BP suspected of putting ethanol in their 98, and lately Shell 95 seems to be a bit stale...... might just have been unlucky last time and got some old fuel).


  8. #6

    Member #
    13860
    Bike(s)
    2000 Blackbird, 2009 ZX6R
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    406
    Liked
    339 times

    Re: A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

    To quote the article; "
    Plenty of early Birds were crashed because the linked brakes and soft suspension, without ABS make it easier to lock the front wheel than on many other bikes." I think the author needs to get his hand out of his trousers and back on the keyboard. Way too many knobs in motoring journalism typing shit.

  9. #7

    Member #
    20251
    Bike(s)
    2001 CBR1100XX Fi
    Join Date
    Jun 11 2015
    Location
    SWUK
    Posts
    410
    Liked
    123 times

    Re: A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

    I thought it was a typical " a little knowledge is dangerous" article !
    Baring in mind it was written by/or for Bennett s then I will say no more !!
    deadman likes this.

  10. #8

    Member #
    4351
    Bike(s)
    2005 Blue Blackbird, Silver 06,Now The Dead Moped,
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2008
    Location
    Lilydale Melb Australia
    Posts
    6,924
    Liked
    1355 times

    Re: A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

    06 and 05 owners books that came with my Birds both stated 91 octane,

    But you can run it on 95, 98, 110, ethanol, Diesel, kerosene, turps, Metho, Its you bike, Run it on what ever you think is best for you,
    Its you that will be paying for the rebuild of your motor,
    If ya not Boppin, Ya in ya coffin. Rock and Roll will soothe your soul.
    Mods, 12 Inch self made Risers, Double Bubble Windscreen, Ventura packrack, Expandable to 82 litre, Rjays rack bag, Suspension is still stock, Megacycle Cans, Hids, Lambswool seat cover, It Might be Blue, It Might be Slow, But it is, Awesome.

  11. #9

    Member #
    37115
    Bike(s)
    1997 honda cbr 1100xx ,2000 zx12r ,1997 xr400,
    Join Date
    Feb 15 2019
    Location
    joshua tree ,calif
    Posts
    17
    Liked
    2 times

    Re: A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

    personally i dint get much out of the reading , i have learned more from the guys on this site :-)

    cheers-

  12. #10
    Play, it makes life fun
    Member #
    15777
    Bike(s)
    84 STD wing, 01 XX, 07 ST1300A, 12 NC700, 85 Rebel
    Join Date
    Mar 24 2013
    Location
    Byron, Illinois
    Posts
    1,603
    Liked
    500 times

    Re: A review by a "motojournalist" on the BB 20 yrs later

    Quote Originally Posted by stone View Post
    personally i dint get much out of the reading , i have learned more from the guys on this site :-)

    cheers-
    Of course and so have I. I thought it was interesting to get someone's view who doesn't own one and has other bikes. Me I own one and love it. I have other bikes. I don't agree with everything he said. But interesting to hear. I upgraded my suspension but the brakes are stock and will stay linked as I don't race.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    Helibars, Corbin Seat, MRA Vario Screen, Cortech Tank Bag, Adaptiv mount & Escort Max detector, Amsoil Oil&Filter, Fender Ext, DanMoto Slip Ons, GIVI E41 panniers & Maxia V56 Trunk, Daugherty Adjustable Forks and Shock, Silent Sprockets-Ognibene/Gold DID Chain, Cameleon Plus Chain Oiler, Beestoy CC, Voltmeter.


 

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •