Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Create Account now to join.
  • Login:

Welcome to the CBRXX.com.

Register ButtonIf this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1

    Member #
    8624
    Bike(s)
    2003 CBR1100xx - Blue - Stock, but not for long...
    Join Date
    May 22 2010
    Location
    Melb Aus
    Posts
    68
    Liked
    0 times

    Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    Ok, so not a review as such, but if you are like me then you have seen the Delkevic mufflers for sale at a much lower price point than most of their competitors and probably wondered 'are they any good'?

    Well I bought some second hand on ebay and (scuffs and scratches notwithstanding) I am happy to report that they seem every bit as good as the more expensive brands.

    They are much lighter than the stockers (as expected), much prettier than the stockers (as expected) and sound pretty damn nice too. All the workmanship seems first rate, the midpipes fitted without drama and the 'look' overall is pretty sweet.

    AND (and here's the bit you've all been waiting for) they have without doubt given me more power and torque than before. I do not have a dyno run to back it up, but where my BB used to 'float' its front wheel under full throttle acceleration (in first gear) it now lifts it clean into the air on power alone. No clutch, no snapping the throttle on. It pulls stronger in the midrange too.

    So all up I would say that I cannot tell the difference between what these Delkevics have done for me and what others say about their Staintunes, Yoshi's or whatever. And they cost a fair bit less.

    If you are in the market then make sure you have a look.

  2. CBRXX.com is the original Honda CBR1100XX Super Blackbird community! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!

  3. #2
    Gun
    Gun is offline

    Member #
    5285
    Bike(s)
    1998 CBR1100XX Blackbird
    Join Date
    Feb 25 2009
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    0 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    I agree wholeheartedly. I put some on my 98 and I reckon they're great. Needed some fine tuning to the jetting (probably not required on fuel injected models) but once that was sorted I have realised a noticable power gain and I still get 350+km before reserve out of the 22 litre tank.

    And they do sound good under load running through from 5000rpm to 9000rpm....its quite addictive!

  4. #3

    Member #
    1835
    Bike(s)
    Red '98 'bird gone, not forgotten, Black '07 Bird
    Join Date
    Jun 21 2007
    Location
    Springwood, West of Hell (Sydney), Australia
    Posts
    1,294
    Liked
    11 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    I loved my Delkevics. Replaced by insurance with a Yoshi 4-1. I like it, but preferred the better bottom end I had with the Delks & OEM headers!

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Member #
    3092
    Bike(s)
    2001 CBR1100XX, 2004 ZZR600(sold)
    Join Date
    Mar 02 2008
    Location
    Jackson, MS??, Atlanta, GA via Bronx, NY
    Posts
    5,863
    Liked
    31 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    These are still on the "short list".
    Murphys 55th law of combat operations:
    The complexity of a weapon is inversely proportional to the IQ of the weapon's operator.


  6. #5

    Member #
    7214
    Bike(s)
    2006 CBR1100XX
    Join Date
    Oct 21 2009
    Location
    Pimpama, Australia
    Posts
    198
    Liked
    35 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    I've seen new Delkevic mufflers advertised on ebay au from Delkevic Australia (in Qld).
    Even for new they are a pretty reasonable price compared to other slip-ons, and I quite like the look of them.

    Just wondering, which style do you guys have?
    They seems to have oval and 'tri-oval' mufflers for the Bird.
    Also, if you can post up any pics of how they look on the Bird it would be greatly appreciated.

  7. #6

    Member #
    462
    Bike(s)
    99 CBRXX
    Join Date
    Nov 27 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    603
    Liked
    14 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    looked on website at the cheapest version, do they have a nice low bass grunt ? in the low revs off the power if you know what i mean also I don't want a constant annoying noise all the time, the standard pipes are nice and quiet when you want them to be.

  8. #7
    Gun
    Gun is offline

    Member #
    5285
    Bike(s)
    1998 CBR1100XX Blackbird
    Join Date
    Feb 25 2009
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    0 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    Quote Originally Posted by GeoffXX View Post
    looked on website at the cheapest version, do they have a nice low bass grunt ? in the low revs off the power if you know what i mean also I don't want a constant annoying noise all the time, the standard pipes are nice and quiet when you want them to be.
    Geoff,

    The Delkevics arent loud at all. I have the 450mm version. Perhaps the 350mm would be a bit louder. The 450mm are louder than the stock ones obviously, but not over bearing.

    They give a low, bassy, note that is barely audible (through the helmet) when creeping along below 3000rpm. They get louder as the revs increase, and the note (on my carbied 98 model) is awesome at wide open throttle through 4000rpm to 8000rpm. Sounds very nice.

    Glenn

  9. #8

    Member #
    4167
    Bike(s)
    1997 CBR1100xx
    Join Date
    Jul 21 2008
    Location
    Preston - United Kingdom
    Posts
    334
    Liked
    23 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    Quote Originally Posted by Skaircro View Post
    if you can post up any pics of how they look on the Bird it would be greatly appreciated.
    This is my 97 with 350mm cans fitted
    Attached Images

  10. #9

    Member #
    462
    Bike(s)
    99 CBRXX
    Join Date
    Nov 27 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    603
    Liked
    14 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    sounds good, they will ship to me here in Thailand for $100, so I think I will order

    thx for the info

  11. #10

    Member #
    462
    Bike(s)
    99 CBRXX
    Join Date
    Nov 27 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    603
    Liked
    14 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    do all the stainless models have removable baffles, on the website it only lists the titanium are removable, maybe just an oversight

  12. #11

    Member #
    4167
    Bike(s)
    1997 CBR1100xx
    Join Date
    Jul 21 2008
    Location
    Preston - United Kingdom
    Posts
    334
    Liked
    23 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    Quote Originally Posted by GeoffXX View Post
    do all the stainless models have removable baffles, on the website it only lists the titanium are removable, maybe just an oversight
    If you buy "street/road legal" cans they have removable baffles - race cans do not.

    My 350mm stainless road legal cans came with removable baffles.

  13. #12

    Member #
    462
    Bike(s)
    99 CBRXX
    Join Date
    Nov 27 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    603
    Liked
    14 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    ah ok thx

  14. #13

    Member #
    462
    Bike(s)
    99 CBRXX
    Join Date
    Nov 27 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    603
    Liked
    14 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    having trouble deciding between the 350mm and 450mm anyone heard them both ?

  15. #14

    Member #
    4167
    Bike(s)
    1997 CBR1100xx
    Join Date
    Jul 21 2008
    Location
    Preston - United Kingdom
    Posts
    334
    Liked
    23 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    Quote Originally Posted by GeoffXX View Post
    having trouble deciding between the 350mm and 450mm anyone heard them both ?
    I have the 350mm fitted with the baffles in.

    They sound nice and deep at tickover and have a snarl under throttle.
    At 7K to 10K on the tacho they sound wonderful !!

    They pass our annual vehicle test without issues.

    I can ride passed a police car without attracting untoward attention.

    The reason for the 350mm was that they do not stick out passed the rear wheel when fitted and they are so much lighter than the stock cans.

  16. #15

    Member #
    462
    Bike(s)
    99 CBRXX
    Join Date
    Nov 27 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    603
    Liked
    14 times

    Re: Delkevic Muffler Review - Thumbs Up.

    thx again for that, 350's it is then

    fed up riding something that most peeps don't realise has an engine


 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Delkevic Slip-on Exhaust Review
    By GregW in forum Engine / Airbox / Exhaust / Fuel Delivery
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 09-25-2014, 10:22 PM

Search tags for this page

consumer ratings for delkevic exhaust
,
delkavic muffler
,
delkevic
,
delkevic any good
,
delkevic exhaust
,

delkevic exhaust review

,

delkevic exhaust reviews

,
delkevic exhausts review
,
delkevic exhausts reviews
,
delkevic muffler
,
delkevic muffler review
,
delkevic mufflers
,
delkevic review
,
delkevic review exhaust
,
delkevic reviews
Click on a term to search our sites for related topics.